home | what's new | episode guide | who's who | production & articles | FAQ & trivia | merchandise | links | contact us | timeslip talk forum

Who's Who

Cast Members

John Alkin
Frank Skinner
Spencer Banks

Simon Randall
John Barcroft
Doctor Bukov
John Barron
Morgan C. Devereaux
Peggy Thorpe Bates
Doctor Edith Joynton
Derek Benfield

Frank Skinner
Cheryl Burfield

Liz Skinner
Sandor Eles
Ian Fairbairn
Alpha 4 / Dr. Frazer
David Graham
Controller 2957
Merdel Jordine
Mary Larkin
Robert Oates
Mary Preston
Denis Quilley
Iris Russell
Jean Skinner
Teri Scoble
Miss Stebbins / Alpha 16
John Swindells
Derek Sydney
Royston Tickner
George Bradley


Ruth Boswell
Creator / script editor
John Cooper
Producer / Director
Peter Fairley
Edouard Michael
Theme music composer
Victor Pemberton
Bruce Stewart


Peggy Thorpe Bates (Doctor Edith Joynton)


Dr. Edith Joynton is a native of New Zealand and ostensibly in charge of the AB experiment at the 'Ice Box', although, along with Dr. Bukov, she has been charged with a watching brief over the clone Devereaux. Although a brilliant scientist Dr. Joynton is also the life and soul of the party who is liked by everyone at the 'Ice Box' - even the usually reserved Beth - and approaches life with great enthusiasm. We learn from Larry that Dr. Joynton is nearly one-hundred years-old, so when her dose of HA57 is misdiagnosed, the result is predictably horrifying...

Peggy Thorpe Bates was born on 11th August 1914. TV viewers best remember her as one of the three actresses who have essayed the role of "She-who-must-be-obeyed" - the wife of Leo McKern's judicial curmudgeon in "Rumpole of the Bailey". She died in 1989.

Selected TV work includes:

The Scarlet Pimpernel - Sir Percy's Wager (ITC / 1954) Caroline Wells
Riviera Police - Past Indefinite, Future Imperfect (Redifussion Network / 1965) Lady Cataret
Sanctuary (1967) Sister Paul
Timeslip (ATV / 1970) Doctor Edith Joynton
The Tragedy of King Richard II (1970)
Rumpole of the Bailey (Thames TV / 1978 - 83) Hilda Rumpole
The Return of the Saint - Collision Course Part two: The Sixth Man (ITC / 1979) Mrs. Cloonan
The Return of the Saint - Collision Course Part one: The Brave Goose (ITC / 1979) Mrs. Cloonan
Minder - You Lose Some, You Win Some (Thames TV / 1980) Mrs. Beecham
Rumpole's Return (Thames TV / 1980) Hilda Rumpole
The Young Ones - Sick (BBC / 1984) Mrs. Pye

Selected film work includes:

Peeping Tom (1960) Mrs. Partridge
In the Doghouse (1961) Mrs. Muswell
Georgy Girl (1966) Hospital Sister
Mosquito Squadron (1969) Mrs. Scott
A Touch of Love (1969) Mrs. Stacey
Galileo (1975) Court Lady

^ back to the top


This website is a P.A.S.T. Projects production.
All still and moving images copyright ITC Incorporated Television Company Limited and Granada Ventures (unless otherwise stated).
All text copyright P.A.S.T. Projects (unless otherwise stated).